Long Guns of the Upper Potomac

Saturday, March 23 – 2 to 4pm

ACHS History Discovery Center at Blue Spring • 400 North Mechanic Street, Cumberland

ACHS is pleased to announce that Mark Smith, John McKee and Tim Hodges have agreed to be part of our inaugural season of History Discovery Sessions in the 1845 Canada Hose House located at 400 North Mechanic Street in Cumberland.

Join us on Saturday, March 23 starting at 2 PM for “The Long Guns of the Upper Potomac.” It will be a fun time informally chatting about our area history and its rich gun making heritage. We’ve been envisioning these new events as book club chats without needing to read the book.”

Attendees will hear and discuss how historic locally built long rifles (circa 1780s-1850) are related, yet uniquely styled by different builders. We will be displaying many flintlock & percussion rifles made in the immediate surrounding area. Makers whose guns will be at the History Discovery Center during this fascinating discussion will include:

  • Hiram Clark apprentice to George Rizer early Cumberland Maryland Gunsmith in 1807
  • Frederick Sheetz 1774-1861 Fort Ashby WV
  • George W Glaze born in Hampshire County WV in 1780 worked in Oldtown Maryland in 1820s.
  • John Stonesifer II, made in Cumberland, MD ca 1835
  • Martin Rizer, a special maker who was born in 1755 and began working in Martinsburg, WV by 1779. He probably learned his trade from his father Martin, in Shepherdstown WV. By 1794 Martin II was in Cumberland with his brother George. Together they trained 20 or more gunsmiths in addition to sons and family members. Martin died in 1815 in Cumberland and George in 1837 near Hancock.

Coffee, drinks and light refreshments provided.

Limited to 30 seats. Reservations will be required.

As always, tickets are discounted for active ACHS members. On-line 2024 membership is available at https://alleganycountyhistory.org/membership-application/

$10 Members
$15 Non-members
*Limit 30 tickets available